Fulbright Advisory Committee at MSU

The Fulbright Advisory Committee at Michigan State University supports Fulbright programs on campus. Committee members read student applications and provide feedback in order to make Spartan submissions as competitive as possible. All committee members have ties to Fulbright programs, whether as former Fulbright Scholars themselves, as members of various Fulbright national screening committees, or as advisors and mentors to aspiring Fulbrighters. 


2020-2021 Fulbright Advisory Committee Members

Duncan Boughton

  • Professor, Department of Agricultural, Food, and Resource Economics
  • Fulbright recipient to Burma (Myanmar), 2019-2020

Cara Cilano

  • Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, College of Arts & Letters
  • Professor, Department of English
  • Fulbright recipient to Austria, 2013-2014
  • Fulbright recipient to Belarus, 2006-2007
  • Fulbright Scholar Alumni Ambassador

Peter De Costa

  • Associate Professor, Department of Linguistics, Germanic, Slavic, Asian and African Languages
  • Jointly appointed in the Department of Teacher Education
  • Fulbright recipient to USA, 2001-2002

Eric Freedman

  • Knight Center for Environmental Journalism Chair and Professor, Department of Journalism
  • Fulbright recipient to Georgia, 2018-2019
  • Fulbright recipient to Lithuania, 2011-2012
  • Fulbright recipient to Uzbekistan, 2002-2003

Peter Glendinning

  • Professor, Department of Art, Art History, and Design
  • Fulbright recipient to South Africa, 2018-2019

Melinda Gann Hall

  • Professor, Department of Political Science
  • Faculty Affiliate, College of Law
  • Fulbright recipient to UK, 2016-2017

Rene Hinojosa

  • Professor Emeritus, School of Planning, Design and Construction
  • Program Coordinator, Institute for Global Health
  • Fulbright recipient to Bolivia, 2017-2018

Carolyn Loeb

  • Associate Professor Emerita, Residential College in the Arts and Humanities
  • Fulbright German Studies Seminar participant in Germany, 2013
  • Fulbright German Studies Seminar participant in Germany, 2001

Rebecca Malouin

  • Director, Master of Science in Global Health Program
  • Director of Research, Institute for Global Health
  • Associate Professor, Family and Community Medicine
  • Interim Director, Canadian Studies Center

Laurie Medina

  • Director, Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies
  • Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology
  • Fulbright recipient to Belize, 1989-1990

Charlene Polio

  • Professor, Department of Linguistics, Germanic, Slavic, Asian and African Languages
  • Fulbright National Screening Committee member, multiple years

Robert Roznowski

  • Professor, Department of Theatre
  • Fulbright recipient to Greece, 2015-2016

Michael Stamm

  • Professor, Department of History
  • Fulbright recipient to Canada, 2012-2013

Volodymyr Tarabara

  • Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Associate Director, Center for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies
  • Fulbright recipient to Georgia, 2014-2015