International Studies & Programs

Home > Information & Resources > Information & Resources > News


Back to News
International Awards Ceremony 2005 Honors 12 for International Engagement

Published: Wednesday, 20 Apr 2005
Author: Stephanie Motschenbacher
Department: Office of the Dean

The 15th Annual MSU International Awards Ceremony was held April 20, 2005 in the Delia Koo International Academic Center. This years ceremony, designated an MSU Sesquicentennial event, was dedicated to Professor Gill-Chin Lim, former dean of ISP, who died recently at the age of 58. Twelve individuals, including MSU faculty, staff, students, alumni, and volunteers, as well as community members received six distinct awards.

Mary P. Andrews received the 2005 Ralph H. Smuckler Award for Advancing International Studies and Programs at Michigan State University.

Delia Z. F. Koo and Hyun-Oh Yoo were recipients of the 2005 Joon S. Moon Distinguished International Alumni Award.

Larry Arbanas and Marilyn Kesler were honored with the Glen L. Taggart Award for Community Contribution to International Understanding.

Two faculty members, H. Paul Roberts and Gerald Urquhart were recipients of the 2005 MSU Award for Outstanding Service to Study Abroad.

Marie Nnyepi, a recent Ph.D. graduate, received the second annual Gill-Chin Lim Award for Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation in Global Studies.

Three students, Erika K. Cwiek, Christine Imelda, and Angelica Kraemer, were recipients of the 2005 Homer Higbee International Education Award, and Margaret Gunn was the recipient of the 2005 Homer Higbee International Education Award for Community Volunteers for International Programs (CVIP).

Full information about the 2005 International Awards Ceremony, as well as other recent ceremonies, is on the web at